Jewel on Post-Modernism

One of the stranger academic lessons I had during my time as a cadet was a political science class where the instructor briefly discussed/critiqued post-modernism and then played this song as its anthem:

Jewel: “I’m Sensitive”

Lyrics

If the instructor had a particular point or position on the matter, I completely missed it.  I did, however, enjoy playing the song from time to time to annoy my roommate.  Its plucky instrumental and airy vocal is an infuriating mix of soothing and nails on a chalkboard.

But more recently, I’ve been reading Amos & Gromar and Anarcho-Papist.  I like them because they are the first bloggers I’ve found to articulate the unspoken philosophy that underlies the other blogs that I read.  While their fleshing out of “Neoreaction” covers a lot of topics, the central theme that I find most compelling is a basic respect for reality.  To save space about why reality is important and what happens when we ignore it, I’ll just link this article about the process that led to the ACA website’s current predicament.

With the importance of reality squarely in the forefront of my mind (and wow, does it ever seem ridiculous to have to say that,) I realize now just how many things are wrong with this song:

I was thinking that I might fly today
Just to disprove all the things you say

Stop oppressing me with facts.  I can do whatever I want.

It doesn’t take a talent to be mean
Your words can crush things that are unseen

Don’t hurt my feelings

So please be careful with me, I’m sensitive
And I’d like to stay that way.

I know my worldview can’t handle interfacing with facts

You always tell me that is impossible
To be respected and be a girl

See: Feminism killed chivalry.  Can’t have the cake and eat it too

Why’s it gotta be so complicated?
Why you gotta tell me if I’m hated?
So please be careful with me, I’m sensitive
And I’d like to stay that way.

No, really, don’t hurt my feelings

I was thinking that it might do some good
If we robbed the cynics and took all their food
That way what they believe will have taken place

Equality through dragging everyone down!

And we’ll give it to anybody who has some faith

I will feed my fanciful flying cohorts through theft.  Venezuela seems to be doing pretty well right now.

So please be careful with me, I’m sensitive
And I’d like to stay that way.
I have this theory that if we’re told we’re bad
Then that’s the only idea we’ll ever have

My own identity depends solely on what others think of me

But maybe if we are surrounded in beauty
Someday we will become what we see

I must surround myself with the accomplishments of others, for I am incapable of original accomplishment

‘Cause anyone can start a conflict
It’s harder yet to disregard it

Because solving the conflict is totally not an option

I’d rather see the world from another angle
We are everyday angels
Be careful with me ’cause I’d like to stay that way

I’m putting on my rose-colored glasses and that’s final.

 

Leave a Reply

